The cuesports enthusiasts site

Orcollo Rules, Jayson Shaw In Second Position

Article created on 02/03/2013 11:04:14 by Planner

CueSports International, Henderson, Nevada (March 1, 2013) – The Western US Pool Season started full swing in style with the completion of the 17th Jay Swanson Memorial 9-Ball Tournament. The “Swanee” is produced by CueSports International (CSI) and was held at Hard Times Billiards in Bellflower, California. Live streaming was provided by POV Pool (

The full 192 field ushered into the pool room early Saturday morning February 23rd to face one of the most regarded and grueling two day 9-ball events in the country. With a total purse of $15,520 up for grabs and the strongest field in the “Swanee” 17 year history; it was tough action for the rail birds. With such names in the field as recent two time consecutive winner Alex Pagulayan, Shane Van Boening - the undisputed top US player for the past several years and multiple world champions such as Francisco Bustamante, Darren Appleton, Dennis Orcollo and making a re-appearance on US soil Ronnie Alcano, the top spot could go to any player.

However not to be ruled out were rock solid top California players such as Sal Butera, Ernesto Dominguez and Louis Ulrich to name a few who have the arsenal in their playing repertoire to take on their international counterparts.

Winning the Swanee comes down to several factors, as all premier tournaments do; skill, a strong mental game, perseverance, a dash of occasional luck of the rolls and in this particular event, stamina.

When the dust settled it was Dennis Orcollo crowned champion late Sunday night and pocked the $3,000 first place prize. In addition to winning the 17th Jay Swanson Memorial, a few additional highlights of Orcollo’s professional 13 career includes winning the 2012 US Open 10-Ball Championship – also produced by CSI, the 2011 Derby City Classic 9-Ball division, the 2011 WPA World 8-Ball Championship and the 2010 World Pool Masters.

Payouts for the 17th Jay Swanson Memorial 9-Ball Tournament:

1st $3,000: Dennis Orcollo
2nd $1,500: Jayson Shaw
3rd $1,000: Rodney Morris
4th $750: Ernesto Dominguez
5th-6th $535: Shane Van Boening and John Morra
7th-8th $400: Brian Butler and Manny Chau
9th-12th $300: Brian Parks, Santos Sambajon Jr., Francisco Bustamante and Ramin Bahkriari
13th-16th $200: Ronnie Alcano, Darren Appleton, Louis Ulrich and Alex Pagulayan
17th-24th $175: James McGoo, Manuel Herrera, Greg Harada, Chris Fitzgerald, Jeremy Jones, Dave Hemmah, Jeff Beckley and Jerry Matchin
25th-32nd $150: Chris Fangre, Jordan Skandlan, Warren Kiamco, Victor Ignatio, Ariel Garrido, Jose Parica, Frank Almanza, and Sal Butera
33rd-48th $100: Chino Reyes, Arthur Garcia, James Milazo, Max Eberle, Keith O’Donnell, Dave Martineau, Stevie Moore, Ike Runnels, Oscar Dominguez, Jaden Brock, Chuck Evans, Stacy Novack, Patrick Kim, Beau Runningen, Danny Gokhul and Jon Giles
49th-64th $75: Butch Barba, Dane Elmstedt, Al Lawrence, Ryan Buist, Daniel Busch, Sean Lane, Mark Barba, Mike Laos, Kelii Chuberko, Wayne Pullen, Mike Longmire, Henry Brodt, Dan Boone, Terry Tom, Dwayne Guillory and Reid Fleming

Next stop for many of the players who participated in the Swanee is Reno, Nevada where the 20th US Bar Table Championships started the very next day, Monday the 25th. To watch all the action at the Bar Table Championships via online PPV by The Action Report (TAR) visit
CueSports International is dedicated to creating more choices for all players. In the past 8 years CSI has directly paid out $8,000,000 to players. CSI is the parent company of the BCA Pool League and the USA Pool League. CSI also produces independent events such as the US Bar Table Championships, the Jay Swanson Memorial, the US Open One Pocket Championship, the US Open 8-Ball Championship and the US Open 10-Ball Championship. Visit,, and for more information about CSI and its divisions.




i love Quidco BlueWhite

Golden 8 Ball

copyright ©